Brrraaaaiinnnsss…

It all started with the Night of the Living Dead.

notld

Zombies. Blood. Brains. Walkers. Dead brought back to life by some virus. Apocalypse. End of days. All that thanks to a gentleman named George A. Romero. His movie served as a trailblazer for the next generation of horror flicks involving ghoules and ‘the undead’.

Zombadings doesn’t count.

For some reason, I’m a sucker for movies that has an apocalyptic feel. Probably because I was a born-again Christian who firmly believed in the rapture and the rise of the ‘anti-Christ’ when I was younger. I grew up worrying about that shit, man. To the extent that I have a mild phobia with scanners and stuff that has bar codes because according to my hardcore born-again christian Mom, its the governments insidious way of getting our information and invading our privacy. No. My Mom’s not on some illegal substance when she was telling me that. 

Any movies or books that tells the story of human survival in a world where everything is in rubbles and almost all human beings are DEAD, I go for it.

So I stumbled on The Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks.

I didn’t actually bought the book and read it – I downloaded the audiobook version and listened to it for 2 days. (cheater!)

Until this day, it gives me chills when I recall how detailed and realistic the author was in dissecting the entire ZOMBIE phenomenon. He tackled EVERYTHING and I mean from the anatomy, behaviour, senses, tendencies and how humans can best defend themselves from these brain eating ghoules.  

But I didn’t stopped there, I went on searching for more Zombie-related entertainment and so I downloaded the WORLD WAR Z by Max Brooks audiobook. Not really a sequel but this one is more like listening to testimonies of people who survived a fictional Zombie apocalypse that happened 10 years ago. The narratives were superb and its so good, I tend to forget that its all fictional. 

wwzzsg

The movie version of WORLD WAR Z gives justice to the book in terms of ‘illustrating’ (lack of a better word) the zombies and how they behave. Forget about the story because it was inconsistent with the book. But man, they really executed the scenes to perfection.

wwz5

Brooks’s zombies are FAST. Not the slow, walking, fragile, decomposing ones you see in the Walking Dead and that’s the scariest shit in the world, man. Not one, not five slow footed walkers trying to get you – but A GODDAMN  SWARM of RUNNING, rabies infected killers. This is the main reason why World War Z appealed to me. It took the whole Zombie perception to a whole new level.

walkingdead1

So what’s my fucking point?

Wala lang. Mahilig lang talaga ko sa mga Zombie movies.

Leave a comment